ZANACO are FAZ/MTN Super League Champions

By Editor / Published on Saturday, 10 Nov 2012 18:43 PM / No Comments / 109 views

Zanaco Football Club have won the 2012 FAZ/MTN League, after beating Nkana Football Club at Arthur Davies stadium in a four goal thriller.

Prior to the game, Zanaco were in second place on 58 points, one behind Power Dynamos, who lost their final week 30 match to Red Arrows 1-nil at Sunset stadium in Lusaka.

This meant that the banker’s chances of winning the league were enhanced, and goals from Stephen Phiri, Ziyo Tembo and Moses Phiri cancelled out Ronald Kampamba’s goal to win the game 3-one.

Power on the other hand, fell one nil behind through a Daniel Sibanda goal in the first half to dent the Copperbelt giants chances of defending the title.

And Zanaco fans invaded the pitch after referee Janny Sikazwe blew the final whistle, singing and chanting slogans of long live Keegan Mumba.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *